AES Technical Committee:

Audio for games

Mission Statement


* * Oct. 15th 2023: the TC-AG will relaunch soon as the Technical Committee on Interactive Media. Please look out for further announcements! * *

This Committee is the portal through which the AES becomes more widely informed of and responsive to the needs of Audio for Games. We will be proactive in defining recommended game audio practices, capabilities, services and standards. Our mission is to cooperatively influence hardware and software design, to leverage the combined skills of the diverse audio community and to improve the performance of audio across all gaming platforms and applications.


Would you like to contribute?

If you are interested in participating in the committee’s work please send an e-mail to any of the committee chairs. Please indicate in your e-mail that you are interested in the AESTC-AG. We welcome those interested in joining the committee to attend a future committee meeting. AES and non AES members are always welcome. Please Note: You do not have to be an AES member to join this committee, however you must be an AES member to serve as Chair or Vice-Chair of the committee. The committee communicates by means of an e-mail reflector site. This committee meets approximately evety 6 months at alternate European and US conventions.


Send Email

Vice Chair

Send Email

Areas of Concentration

  1. Evaluation and Assessment of Game Audio Quality
  2. Recommended Technical Practices
  3. Interactive Audio Systems
  4. Game Audio Education

AES 143 NYC 2017 – Game Audio, VR & Spatial Audio

Game Audio at the AES is bigger and better! This year we have 2 FULL Tracks. Click the links below to plan your journey.

AES 143 Game Audio & VR Sessions

AES 143 Spatial Audio Sessions

Technical Committee on Audio for Games Meeting:

Thursday, October 19, 12:30 pm — 1:30 pm

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, New York 10176, USA.

2018-9-19     Meeting of the AES Technical Committee on Audio for Games
Description: August 21st, 8am, Room Hokusai, 2nd Floor DIGIPEN Institute, Redmond Washington USA.

2018-9-19     Meeting of the AES Technical Committee on Audio for Games – New Realities Group (Online)
Description: Online meeting: 13th August 2pm (GMT) The full meeting can be viewed online here:

2017-8-14     Minutes from the Audio for Games TC meeting at AES 142 Berlin
Description: Minutes of the meeting of the Audio for Games Technical Council at the 142nd Convention in Berlin.

2009-5-28     TC Meeting Minutes
Description: Minutes from TC Meeting on Thursday, May 7, 2009 at the 126th AES Convention in Munich

2009-4-30     TC Meeting Minutes
Description: Minutes of the AES Technical Committee on Audio for Games – October 4, 2008 – AES 125th Convention, San Francisco, USA

2006-7-31     TC Meeting Minutes
Description: Minutes from TC meeting on Saturday, May 20, 2006 at the 120th AES convention in Paris.

2006-4-11     TC Meeting Minutes
Description: Minutes from TC meeting on Friday, October 9, 2005 at the 119th AES convention.

2003-10-12     TC Meeting Minutes
Description: Minutes from TC meeting on Friday, October 10, 2003 at the 115th AES convention.

2009-10-27     Game Audio Skillsets Matrix with Job Descriptions
Description: List of Game Audio jobs with descriptions and desired skillsets provided by Project Bar-B-Q. The matrix ranks the importance of various soft and technical skills for each job task/type. The ranking legend identifies that a “3” represents a required skill, a “2” represents a desirable skill, a “1” represents an unimportant skill, and a “-1” represents a skill that could be a hindrance.

2003-1-16     Emerging Trends 2003
Description: Emerging Technology Trends Report

Committee Members

James Johnston
Tom Hays
Tom White
Andreas Floros
Gavin Kearney
Linda Gedemer
Scott Selfon
Erisa Sato
Henney Oh
Garry Taylor
Julius Kammerl
Sally Kellaway
Nico Fournel
Michael Kelly
Nuno Fonseca
Chris Grigg
Nicolas Tsingos
Steve Martz
José Frías
Lasse Laaksonen
John La Grou
Masataka Nakahara
Ben Firth
Orfeas Boteas
Simon Galvez
Jeff Ballard
Steve Horowitz
Mark Tuffy
Mark Henderson
Paul Fox
Kazutaka Someya
Nikola Jeremic
Ken Felton
Christopher Stecker
Marcin Gorzel
Tomoya Kishi
Viktor Phoenix
Stephan Schütze
Michael Pedersen

Choose your country of residence from this list:

Skip to content