AES Technical Committee:

Machine learning and artificial intelligence

Mission Statement

The Technical Committee on Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence (TC-MLAI) focuses on applications of machine learning and artificial intelligence in audio, with discussions on topics such as: best practices, data, licensing, social and cultural aspects, technical innovations, and ethics. The goal of the committee is to drive discussion and exchange information by organizing and disseminating workshops, symposia, tutorials, and technical documents. The TC-MLAI acts as a point of contact and a bridge to other AES technical committees, the AES community at large, and other organizations involved in ML and AI for audio.


Gordon Wichern

Vice Chair

Christian Uhle, Brecht De Man

Areas of Concentration

  • Artificial intelligence and creativity
  • Ethical and social considerations of AI applications.
  • Best practices for data and metadata handling, e.g. data collection, labeling, and storage.
  • Best practices for workflows, e.g. when updating, deploying and assuring quality of trained models.
  • Licensing issues for data, pretrained models, and software implementations (external libraries)
  • Aspects of evaluation, both objective and perceptual
  • Explaining and understanding decisions of data driven systems
  • Security and robustness
  • Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence Algorithms
  • Documentation of evolution and history of ML and AI
  • Applications in:
  • Content analysis
  • Source separation
  • Music and sound generation
  • Automated and assistive audio production
  • Digital audio effects
  • Repair, restoration, and enhancement
  • Educational tools
  • Automatic speech recognition
  • Speech synthesis
  • Spatial audio
  • Audio coding
  • Systems diagnostics

Current Areas Of Work

  • Papers sessions
  • Workshops
  • Symposiums
  • Identify trends

These documents do not necessarily express the official position of the AES on the issues discussed at these meetings, and only represent the views of committee members participating in the discussion. Any unauthorized use of these publications is prohibited. Authorization must be obtained from the Executive Director of the AES: Email, Tel: +1 212 661 8528, Address: 551 Fifth Ave., Suite 1225, New York, New York 10176, USA.

2023-12-10     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2023-11-08
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2023-11-08

2023-6-2     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2023-05-23
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2023-05-23

2022-11-1     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2022-10-24
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2022-10-24

2022-6-2     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2022-06-01
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2022-06-01

2021-11-22     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2021-10-19
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2021-10-19

2021-6-7     TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2021-06-02
Description: TC MLAI Meeting Minutes 2021-06-02

2023-12-10     AES155 – AI Town Hall Presented by TC-MLAI (AES155)
Description: Slides from the TC-MLAI Town Hall event at AES NY.

2023-11-17     AES155 – AI for Multitrack Music Mixing (AES155)
Description: Slides of the TC-MLAI sponsored workshop at AES NY.

2023-9-25     AES 155 – AI Townhall Pre-event Resources
Description: List of resources compiled to provide a basic primer of some of the issues and positions surrounding the use of AI in creative work.

2022-11-11     AES 153 – Teaching AI to hear like we do: psychoacoustics in machine learning slides
Description: Slides from the first in-person workshop organized by TC-MLAI

Committee Members

Brent Harshbarger
Marina Bosi
Anibal Ferreira
Ronny Andersson
Jonathan Wyner
Michelle Daniels
Alexander Wankhammer
Brecht De Man
Christian Steinmetz
Mikus Salgravis
Julian Parker
Dylan Flesch
Matthew Pitkin
Angeliki Mourgela
Robert Werner
Emilia Stefanowska
Gerald Schuller
David Andrews
M. Lefford
Arijit Biswas
Jamie Angus
Renato de Castro Rabelo Profeta
Christian Uhle
Dave Moffat
Gordon Wichern
David Prince
Jordan Juras
Joey Stuckey
Soumya Sai Vanka
Daniel Turner
Gavin Barrett-Hayes
Gordon Reid
Steve Hutt
J. Keith McElveen
Jan Skoglund
Jean-Marc Jot
Teri Grossheim
Christos Chousidis
Joseph Colonel
Jorge Garcia
Shahan Nercessian
Harry Andrews
Rebecca Fiebrink
Thaddeus Páez
Andy Sarroff
Flavio Everardo

Choose your country of residence from this list:

Skip to content