AES 2022 International Automotive Audio Conference Committee

Roger Shively, JJR Acoustics


Roger Shively is a Co-founder and Principal of JJR Acoustics. He has over 34 years of experience in engineering research and development, with significant experience in product realization and in launching new products at OEM manufacturers around the world.

Roger received his degree in Acoustical Engineering from Purdue University in 1983, and finished post-graduate work in the field of finite element analysis. He is a member of the Audio Engineering Society, Acoustical Society of America, and Society of Automotive Engineering. He has published numerous research papers and articles in the areas of transducers, automotive audio, psychoacoustics, and computer modeling. Roger also holds U.S. and International Patents related to the design of advanced acoustic systems and applications particularly in the field of automotive audio.

Roger is Co-Chair of the AES Automotive Audio Technical Committee.

Yu “Dewey” Du, Harman

Papers Chair

Yu (Dewey) Du is a Senior Principal Acoustic Engineer in the Automotive Microphone, Headphone and Sensor team at Harman International – Automotive Audio Division. He developed the interest in audio engineering and hearing science ever since his first industry job out of the graduate school when he was tasked to develop advanced technology solutions for personal hearing protection and communication systems targeting at military applications in extremely loud noise environments. He has over fifteen cumulative years of experience in engineering research and development in the areas of miniature acoustic transducers, MEMS microphones and automotive microphones and sensors.


Yu received his PhD degree in Mechanical Engineering from Virginia Tech in 2003 focusing in sound and vibration control. He has authored over 30 scientific publications on acoustic transducer development, modeling as well as structural vibration, and noise control. Yu also holds multiple U.S. and International Patents related to the design and application of acoustic transducers and devices. He has been an active AES member since 2009.


Lars Carlsson, Dirac


Lars Carlsson, Head of Business Development Automotive, VP at Dirac Research AB.

Lars is heading the Global Automotive business and sales of Dirac’s audio optimization software and solutions for the immersive user experience in vehicles. Dirac also delivers solutions to Home Audio, Streaming Services and Consumer Electronics, all that are of high interest in Automotive.

Lars graduated from University of Technology in Lund Sweden (MSc in Engineering) and has more than 25 years of experience in NVH, Simulation and Testing and Business Development and Sales in different international leadership positions.


Spencer Shively, JJR Acoustics


Spencer Shively serves as Data Analyst, Social Media Coordinator, and Website Manager at JJR Acoustics, LLC. He also is a Cybersecurity Associate at Infosys Ltd. He graduated from Indiana University Bloomington from the School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science in Security
Informatics and Human-Centered Computing. Spencer has been an active member in the audio community for over a year and is very excited to continue his work within the audio industry as a member of the Communications Committee of the AES Technical Committee for Automotive Audio.


Dan Field auto
Dan Field, Panasonic

Vice-Chair; Treasurer; Sponsorship

Dan Field graduated from Southern Illinois University and soon took up with a southern Indiana company that was to become Harman’s automotive sound headquarters. There he developed commercial and music instrument speakers, and a number of automotive innovations, including Ford-JBL sound systems.

He later held senior technical positions at RCA during the early days of HDTV, and with Klipsch during their strong growth years. Dan returned to Harman for another 12 years in 2002 to help the company re-establish strong ties with GM, Ford, and Chrysler, introducing along the way many new premium audio systems.

He recently retired from a senior technical position with Panasonic Automotive Systems, America where he was charged with mentoring young talented engineers, and benchmarking and developing still more premium audio systems

Dan is a past board member and standards chair of ALMA, and has been an AES member since 1977.


Samira Mohamady, IAV

Papers Vice-Chair

Dr. Samira Mohamady is an acoustics expert with more than 10 years of profound industrial and academic experiences in the field of acoustic and vibro-acoustics simulation and analysis, Active Noise Control (ANC), audio signal processing and validation. She has significantly been involved in various projects and pre-development
projects at the Ingenieurgesellschaft Auto und Verkehr (IAV) in Munich, Germany and is a Scrum Master of projects with an interdisciplinary team structure. She has received her doctoral degree from Institute for Technical Acoustics (ITA) at the RWTH Aachen University, in this time she has investigated the influence of uncertainties on Transfer Path Analysis (TPA) and sound design in closed environments with consideration of deviation of psychoacoustic parameters, which can be or rather been used as a guideline for the purpose of TPA. She has also been an active member and organizer of Young Acousticians Network (YAN) of European Acoustics Association (E.A.A.) and has organized YAN event at the DAGA 2016 in Aachen, Germany.


Patrick Dennis, Nissan

Communications/Website; Local Support & Facilities

Patrick Dennis is Principal Engineer at Nissan for Audio Sound Quality, Bluetooth Hands-free and Voice Recognition. He has been in audio for 27 years with positions held in competitive analysis, speaker design and acoustic system design.

He is Vice Chairman of the AES Technical Committee for Automotive Audio.


Peter Ryan, Ford Motor Company

Local Support & Facilities

Event Homepage:

No event found!
Choose your country of residence from this list:

Skip to content