AES Announces Fall 2023 Award Winners

AES 2023 Award Winners
December 1, 2023
AES bestowed 13 of its members with Society honors during the opening ceremony of the AES NY 2023 International Convention.
 Not pictured above: Darcy Proper, Susan Rogers, and Fernando Bacigalupo

[NEW YORK, NY – December 1, 2023] – The Audio Engineering Society (AES) bestowed 13 of its members with Society honors during the opening ceremony of the AES NY 2023 International Convention in October. Since 1949, AES awards have recognized individuals who have rendered notable service to the Society or have made outstanding contributions to the science and technology of audio engineering and its application.

The Board of Governors Award, given to Members who have rendered exceptional service to the Society, was presented to–

  • Fernando Bacigalupo in recognition of chairing the AES Latin American Conference 2022 in Buenos Aires, Argentina;
  • John Krivit in recognition of chairing the 2023 AES International Conference on Audio Archiving, Preservation & Restoration in Culpepper, Virginia, USA; and
  • Jonathan Wyner in recognition of chairing the 153rd AES Convention in New York in 2022.

The Fellowship Award, given to Members who have rendered conspicuous service to the Society, made a valuable contribution to the advancement or dissemination of knowledge of audio engineering, or made a valuable contribution to the application of audio engineering, was presented to the following individuals:

  • Chips Davis for outstanding contributions to the conceptual, acoustical, and technical design of studios, critical listening spaces, and entertainment venues;
  • Mark Dodd for his innovative achievements in theoretical and applied research into transducers, loudspeakers, and FEA modelling and optimization;
  • Gary Gottlieb for outstanding long-term service to the AES, its members, and its worldwide mission;
  • Kurt Graffy for innovation in the design, integration, evaluation, and computer simulation of high-performance audio, AV, and acoustical systems, and for contributions to the AES;
  • Darcy Proper in recognition of the artistic application of audio technology as a mastering engineer and for generously sharing knowledge and experience;
  • Susan Rogers in recognition of significant contributions to the art of music recording and innovations in the areas of music cognition and psychoacoustics;
  • Michael Santucci in recognition of devotion to hearing loss prevention research and education and for pioneering work in in-ear monitoring; and
  • Jim Starzynski for his role as a driving force in the pursuit of broadcast audio quality and his tireless efforts on AES Standards and Technical Committees.

The Distinguished Service Medal Award, given in recognition of extraordinary service to the Society over a period of years, was presented to the following individuals:

  • Christopher Plunkett for tireless and dedicated support of AES’s operations over the past four decades; and
  • Frank Wells in recognition of three decades of outstanding service at the local, regional, and international levels of AES governance and administration.

The AES offers these award recipients its sincere gratitude for their contributions to the advancement of audio engineering and to the Society.

About AES:
The Audio Engineering Society (AES) is the leading professional association worldwide for audio professionals and enthusiasts. For 75 years, the AES has been at the forefront of audio technology and innovation, providing a platform for knowledge exchange, networking, and industry collaboration. Learn more at

Media Contact:
Kelly Reynolds
Director of Marketing and Communications
Audio Engineering Society

Choose your country of residence from this list:

Skip to content